Goodbye 2011…

These were my last photography efforts for 2011.  I was trying to achieve some good out of focus backgrounds called ‘bokeh’.  I did two versions, but I’m not sure which I prefer.  In the first one I used a flash, not on the camera, but handheld and attached with a curly wire to the camera, and bounced off a white ceiling.  I used a wide aperture to get a shallow depth of field and throw out the background. Finally I added the frame in Photoshop.

The second picture was taken using a long shutter speed, about 5 seconds and no flash.  I love the bokeh background, very blurred large circles and closer to the camera.  I also like the composition in this photo, but it lacks the highlights on the reindeer which the other one has.  I used a tripod for both pictures.

Leave a Reply

