Photo Collages

I’ve changed my blog theme again, but I never seem to be able to find what I want.  I suspect I’m going to have to apply some HTML or CSS to customize the blog as much as I would like.  Maybe I’ll get the opportunity to learn a little more about that in year three of my photography degree.

I really want to be able to create free form collages, not the standard gallery type, which I already have on here – I want a bit more freedom to play with my own ideas, to change photo sizes, duplicate, add my own borders, alter opacity, rotate, use blending modes etc.  I can do a lot of this on Photoshop, as I have in this image of my daughter, but currently I have to paste it onto a document in Photoshop, which then seems to restrict the publishing size here.

I also want to be able to write across the whole page, just one column.  I don’t like several columns and I hate cluttered pages with lots of social media icons etc.  I like to be able to change the colour of the background on my blog, which I’ve managed to do with this theme.  I love playing with layers and masks in Photoshop to create images like the one above, but I just wish I had a bit more freedom.

For this photo I created the background document in Photoshop and chose the colour.  The secondary background is a photo I took of a peeling wall somewhere – I altered the colour and opacity and placed it on the grey background.  The photo of my daughter I altered in many ways in Photoshop – I changed it to a black and white image first, then altered the opacity, orientation individual borders etc.

I would like to be able to do this directly onto the WordPress page, but with larger images and backgrounds.  I’d be grateful for some ideas.  Of course if I had a lot of money to spare, I could get someone to do this for me!

Leave a Reply

